(British Retail Consortium)


It was first published in 1998 as the BRC Food Technical Standard by the British Retailers Association (BRC). The standard is adopted by food suppliers worldwide, especially by organizations that supply products to UK retailers.
BRC Global Food Standard is designed for vendors who supply food products to British retailers regardless of product or country of origin. According to the standard, certification helps manufacturers, brand owners and retailers fulfill their legal obligations, while ultimately becoming the consumer protector.

The standard in particular; It requires the establishment and continuity of the HACCP system in the enterprise, the implementation of a documented and effective quality management system, and the efficient control of factory environmental standards, products, processes and personnel.

In order to ensure compliance with this standard, food producers must adapt six basic criteria to management systems.
• HACCP System
• Quality management system
• Business (factory) Environmental Standards
• Product Control
• Process Control
• Personnel Sufficiency and Hygiene Training



Considering the fact that only a very small amount of each food product offered for consumption is analyzed, it is necessary to know that the continuous analysis system does not provide complete security for human health alone. For this reason, there is a need for a preventive method that handles all process steps more systematically.
Here, the concept of Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP, Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points) is a system that brings a systematic and logical approach to this need. (HACCP document)

HACCP is a systematic approach to identify risks and take relevant measures. It can also be applied with other management systems. TS 13001 Standard is based on internationally accepted HACCP principles. The TS 13001 Standard covers the rules of a HACCP management system consisting of three main elements: management, HACCP system and good manufacturing practices (GMP).

The principles of HACCP, which first appeared in 1959-1960 by NASA to produce safe food for astronauts, were published in 1963 by the World Health Organization (WHO) and CAC (Codecs Allimentarius Commision). Hazard Analysis and Critical Control Points (HACCP) is an approach that defines the requirements of a safe food management system.
The HACCP system enables organizations to analyze hazards that affect food safety; It enables them to focus on the systematic identification and implementation of critical control limits at critical control points in the food production process.

HACCP is built within the framework of 7 principles and 12 implementation stages:
1- Hazard analysis,
2- Determination of critical control points,
3- Creating critical limits,
4- Establishing the system for monitoring critical control points,
5- Monitoring of uncontrolled points and establishment of corrective actions, if any,
6- Establishing control procedures to control the effective functioning of the system,
7- Establish a documentation system that covers procedures and records for the implementation of these principles.

FSSC 22000

The FSSC 22000 Food Safety System Certificate provides a framework for effectively managing your organization’s food safety responsibilities. The FSSC 22000 is fully recognized by the Global Food Safety Initiative (GFSI) and based on existing ISO Standards. It shows that your company has a robust Food Safety Management System that meets the needs of your customers and consumers.


Smeta Global is a non-profit organization dedicated to responsible and ethical business practices improvement processes in the global supply chain. Sedex is a trading community that aims to develop organizations in the supply chain on ethical trade.


The rapidly increasing world population, changing nutritional habits and nutritional needs, negative changes in ecological balance, new agricultural techniques and increasingly diverse methods in processing agricultural products ready for consumption brought together some problems in the provision of foods harmless to human health. However, especially in recent years, products that can be guaranteed to be safe in the food market have started to be preferred with the increasing consumer awareness. Food safety means that the absence of unnatural ingredients in foodstuffs, their harmless or acceptable levels, and the provision of food hygiene is directly related to the environmental health, public health and well-being of businesses at the stage of food production. Retailers came together to establish the concept of GAP (Good Agricultural Practices) to guarantee that the product they offer to customers is safe and produced based on the sustainability principle. Launched as a non-profit initiative of the European Retailers Product Working Group (EUREP – Euro-Retailer Produce Working Group) in 1997, EUREPGAP (now known as GLOBALGAP) ensures the safety of agricultural products from farm to fork according to the conditions developed by the EUREPGAP Technical and Standards Committee. It aims to provide, improve food quality.

GLOBALGAP, which has become a prerequisite for exporting fresh fruits and vegetables to European Union countries, is a product monitoring assurance provided by the European Union (EU) retailers to its consumers. The consumer wants to make a commitment that any food taken from the shelf does not pose a safety risk in terms of food hygiene and is produced through environmentally friendly practices. The manufacturer and / or exporter, who wants to export to the EU, has to prove to the consumer through the retailer that his product fulfills these commitments. As a result of this, the concept of GLOBALGAP Certificate, which is given by third-party independent organizations, which shows that the related commitments are met, has emerged. GLOBALGAP Certificate acts as a passport for the manufacturer and / or exporter to deliver his product to the EU market.

Due to this understanding, which has started to settle rapidly in our country, some large retailers have started to request GLOBALGAP certified products from manufacturers / suppliers as a proof of the reliability of the products they offer to their customers.

GLOBALGAP standards are the standards that define the minimum safety conditions demanded by the consumer. Consumers, the food they buy;

· It is not microbiologically, physically and chemically harmful,
Since the environment and natural balance are not harmed during their production,
· It is produced in accordance with legal conditions and
They want to ensure that all necessary measures are taken to ensure the health and safety of the people involved in production.

GLOBALGAP, which is also considered as a quality system in the agricultural sector, focuses on the production in the field, adopts integrated agricultural principles, HACCP and ISO 9001 in terms of food safety and quality; It is a system that is parallel with ISO 14001 standards in terms of environmental management and OHSAS 18001 standards in terms of occupational health and safety. However, it envisages monitoring the Integrated Pest Management and Integrated Crop Management methods.


GLOBALG.AP stands for Social Practice Risk Assessment. GRASP is a voluntary ready-to-use module designed to evaluate social practices on the farm. The Needs catalog consists of 11 standard requirements and one additional QMS requirement that addresses specific aspects of employee health, safety and well-being. GRASP is designed to extend the social standards of your GLOBALG.AP Certification.